By
Khaled A., on March 16th, 2010
Update: It got unblocked fast! According to my inside source this post triggered an auto block. My guess “الجنس” caused it
.
Now here’s something you don’t see getting blocked: a development website. Oh wait, you do see stupid blocks all the time! ArDroid.com is an Arabic website dedicated development of Arabic applications for the Google Android platform. It’s a well known site and I blogged about their efforts on my personal site.
Only reason I can think of is stupidity … either that or that it’s a mistake.

To help getting it unblocked as soon as possible fill the form at internet.gov.sa, write an email to unblock@internet.gov.sa or send a fax to +966(1)2639290.
By
Khaled A., on March 15th, 2010
Respectq.net (Google cache) looks like a normal blog and hardly any content worth blocking.
Most likely blocked for this post (Google cache) which talks about “We Hate CITC” website.

To help getting it unblocked as soon as possible fill the form at internet.gov.sa, write an email to unblock@internet.gov.sa or send a fax to +966(1)2639290.
Updated a bit.
By
Khaled A., on February 22nd, 2010
Anime News Network (www.animenewsnetwork.com), a very popular Anime news website was suddenly blocked in Saudi Arabia sometime last week according to @Shinryoma.
Anime News Network was never blocked in the country. Anime is not porn, CITC.
Update: Thanks @Turke and @Missice81 for telling me this. Manga Fox ( www.mangafox.com ) a Manga source, as been blocked as well! What’s next? One Manga? Manga Stream?
To help getting it unblocked as soon as possible fill the form at internet.gov.sa, write an email to unblock@internet.gov.sa or send a fax to +966(1)2639290.
By
Khaled A., on December 30th, 2009
Domain Tools (not blocked) is an online tool for webmasters. Their WHOIS service (formally known as whois.sc) is now blocked. The blocked URL is:
whois.domaintools.com
WHOIS is a harmless protocol used to look-up domain names, etc. There is no reason what so ever for having it blocked. Read more about WHOIS on Wikipedia.

To help getting it unblocked as soon as possible fill the form at internet.gov.sa, write an email to unblock@internet.gov.sa or send a fax to +966(1)2639290.
By
Khaled A., on December 7th, 2009
Google’s very own “Google Groups Guide” Google group is blocked for no known reason. This is a Google Groups help and support forum. Here’s more info about it:
The Google Groups Help Forum is the primary channel for getting your Groups questions answered. You’ll find that this community is always buzzing with activity. Get ready to meet some expert users of Google Groups who’ll provide friendly advice about the product (if you’re nice to them). The Google Groups Guide and Groups Guide Ray, Google employees, regularly monitor this unmoderated Help Forum. The Guides will only respond to questions if there is valuable information to share with our users that has not already been provided by the Forum’s resident experts! Messages from Google employees will appear with a blue “G” badge.
From the description I see no reason to have it blocked. Here is the blocked URL:
http://groups.google.com/group/google-groups-guide/
To help getting it unblocked as soon as possible fill the form at internet.gov.sa, write an email to unblock@internet.gov.sa or send a fax to +966(1)2639290.
By
Khaled A., on August 26th, 2009
Megaupload (www.megaupload.com) is a file hosting service similar to RapidShare. You can use it to send large files if you can’t email them. The Wikipedia article about it is inaccurate as it claims that KACST is responsible for blocking and we all know that CITC is handling it now.
I should add that RapidShare was blocked but now it has been unblocked for a while. Megaupload can be unblocked too!
We should get it unblocked as soon as possible and to do so fill the form at internet.gov.sa, write an email to unblock@internet.gov.sa or send a fax to +966(1)2639290.
By
Khaled A., on August 2nd, 2009
The Google Wireless Transcoder is a simple tool that rearranges websites for mobile phone web browsers. This service is enabled by default on Google searches made on Nokia phones without an easy method to disable them.
The service is completely blocked in Saudi Arabia and most mobile phone users are annoyed by this block. It is easy to have a smart filter on google.com/gwt/n instead of blocking the whole service.
Let’s get it unlocked as soon as possible and to do so fill the form at internet.gov.sa, write an email to unblock@internet.gov.sa or send a fax to +966(1)2639290.
By
Khaled A., on July 27th, 2009
Metacafe is a well known internet video website just like Youtube. While the original site www.metacafe.com is not blocked one of the static servers “s2.mcstatic.com” is blocked in Saudi Arabia. That server holds many of the JavaScript needed to run the site correctly so basically Metacafe is crippled now.
Let’s get it unlocked as soon as possible and to do so fill the form at internet.gov.sa, write an email to unblock@internet.gov.sa or send a fax to +966(1)2639290.
Update: While s2.mcstatic.com is still blocked, Metacafe has changed the URL to bypass the block! Thanks Metacafe!
By
Khaled A., on June 26th, 2009
Update: this is a record time for CITC to unblock something. They will be blocking some individual accounts who are posting questionable content of p*rnographic nature.
Vox.com is a blogging service owned by Six Apart. It is a very popular social network platform.
Unfortunately I just found out that Vox is not blocked in Saudi Arabia! The random block hammer continues at CITC. What’s next? Wordpress.com?

Let’s get it unlocked as soon as possible and to do so fill the form at internet.gov.sa, write an email to unblock@internet.gov.sa or send a fax to +966(1)2639290.
By
Khaled A., on May 28th, 2009
The tinyurl untiny bookmarlet that we talked about was now updated. The new update was a response to a change in the Saudi Arabia Internet block of tinyurl.
You can get it here, just drag the “UnTiny” link to your bookmark toolbar. You can still resolve a tinyurl manually by visiting untiny.
Comments